An Honest Message to Graduates

IMG_0622.jpg

Dear Graduates,

As a person who recently graduated, I want to share five things I learned during the past few months. Not everyone is going to have a full-time job or paid internship right after you sent in your final paper and took that glorious walk in your cap and gown, where dad took pictures and mom cheered for you. That is okay! These are what I learned:

1. Take this window as an opportunity to explore

Immediately after graduating, I took a road trip around Taiwan. I thought there is no better time than now to take my time and explore myself and my home country. Either going on a road trip, backpacking across Europe or exploring the Pacific Islands. Go to a place you have never been to. Explore a different culture, and take in different perspectives. Be adventurous, be brave and be curious! You might never have the chance to do this once you are on a payroll.

If you’ve been to every single country in the world, no worries. Take the time to read a book you never opened or write that blog you never started.

2. You are perfectly fine to feel lost

Yes, it is okay. Feeling lost is not unacceptable. It is better to confront the feeling of being lost than swallowing it and pretending everything is fine. Being conscious with your own feeling helps you find the help and support you need.

3. Ask yourself these questions:

  • What am I good at?
  • What do people tell me I am good at?
  • What is holding me back?

In Ashley Stahl’s Tedx Talk, she talked about the importance of answering these three questions. They will help you with finding a career you want to pursue. Finding your passion is important. As Macklemore wrote in his song Growing Up, “Don’t try to change the world, find something that you love, and do it every day. Do that for the rest of your life, and eventually the world will change.” I truly believe this world will be a better place if we pursue the things we love. So find your passion, and make it your profession.

4. Set up coffee chats, put yourself out there

Send out email and text messages to alumni, professors, friends and professionals you know. Talk to anyone that you are interested in what they are doing. Set up calls and coffee chats. Ask questions. Ask about their experiences and what they think about the industry/position. At the same time, imagine if you were in the same position, does it seem right? I know how intimidating putting yourself out there is, but it is worthy! You learn from meetings with people. When you are learning and growing, you are also building your connections!

5. Keep your love ones close

I want to take a moment to thank you! You know who you are. From the bottom of my heart, I genuinely appreciate your support and love during the past couple months. The FaceTime calls, Skype calls, museum visits, messages and email meant so much to me. You kept me fueled and kept me strong. Thank you for being my biggest supporter and an amazing listener that I desperately needed. Thank you!

Thanks for reading! Please share my blog with someone who might find it helpful. Leave me a comment, let me know how you are doing and what your summer plans are.

Last but not least,

Congratulations to Class of 2017! 🙂

Leave a Reply

